.

About Shelly

    HI I'm Shelly.  I share all of my sewing adventures here at Coral + Co.  Mostly I sew for my two girls Ava and McKenna, but I also like to quilt and make other pretty things. I started sewing when I was six years old making my first pair of barbie pants.  As a kid I was given an old sewing machine and I would make doll clothes using scraps of fabric I had been given.  I got to take a few sewing classes when I was a teenager and learned how to make simple clothing for myself.  I continued to sew up until the time I had my two girls, when I started sewing mostly for them.  Around that time I also opened up an etsy shop making baby blankets and goodies, but making one thing over and over get's a little boring, right?  I also operated a small online fabric shop for a few years, but discovered that I really don't like keeping track of inventory.  Ha.  Around that time I discovered what I really liked doing was making tutorials for my shop blog and sharing what I make.  My  best friend Jennie and I decided to start blogging together here at Coral + Co., and while Jennie no longer blogs she still loves to sew.   Some of my favorite things are flowers, polka dots, and stripes.   My favorite colors are aqua and pink.  I daydream about my next sewing project, obsess over vintage patterns, drool over fabric, and I can't live without coffee. Bright colors make me happy, I love sunshine am super lucky to live near the beach and go as often as I can. I have a bubbly personality, am totally scatterbrained, and I am only five feet tall.

Where I'm Live:  

I grew up in Sonoma, California located about an hour north of San Francisco.  Jennie and I went to school together and have been longtime friends.  I also went to middle school and high school with my husband, although we didn't start dating until a decade later.  My family and I now live on an Island in South East Georgia, which is totally beautiful, but the humidy (ugh).  We pretty much don't come outside during the summer except to swim.  

How I spend my time :  

I grew up riding horses (both of my parent's were professional horsemen), I also did gymnastics until I was a teenager (I guess you could say I was pretty serious about it).  After high school I started a career as a gymnastics coach with the hopes of someday owning a gym.  And then I along came marriage and kids and I decided focus on them instead.  That's when sewing became such a large part of my life.  But I also like to read books, I'm totally into historical fiction, binge watching netflix (who doesn't?), taking lots of photos of my kids, and going to the beach

My Photography Gear:

Sometimes I get asked about what kind of camera I take pictures of my kids with.  I made a post about my gear here.